• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Scale 112" Republic Twin Seabee (scratch build)

Len

30cc
Hi gang.
A buddy( Rob) and I have been sitting on plans to build a giant scale Sea Bee for a couple years. In the mean time we bought a GP sales Sea bee kit an assemble it with an electric power system. Overall, its a good flying plane, but the lack of prop clearance limits the power and thrust you can have.
Moving to the scratch build project, we took a set of plans and had them blown up to the size we wanted.

Since this is a scratch build, not laser cut parts, no fiberglass cowl or floats, we'll be making our own.

The plane is being designed to accept the EVO 20cc motors. http://www.horizonhobby.com/20gx-20cc-(120-cu-in)-gas-engine-with-pumped-carb-evoe20gx2
They're on order now and I expect to have them this week. We already have an EVO 33 in a Hangar 9 Beaver and couldn't be happier with the performance, so its a no brain-er to use a pair of 20cc motors in this build.
The plan shows a single engine plane, so we'll be modifying to make it a twin.

First thing we're doing is building the wing. This will be the most difficult part of this build so we'll tackle it first.
The wing is a three piece setup, with the center section originally designed to stay with the fuse. We'll change it slightly and make the center section wider, incorporation the dihedral and the two motors. Doing this, the outer wing panels will simply slights right onto the wing tubes.

Off we go.
We cut most ribs out of 1/8 balsa, the rest are 1/8 a/c ply where the motors will attach, The panels will be capped with 1/8 liteply.