• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

3DHS 72" Extra - Motrolfly 4330-206kv on 12S

Hey guys!

So I've been loving the 72" Extra for a couple years now, and all this time I've been running it on a Motrolfly 4330 6S setup. I was hearing that some guys had great success running it on 12S, so I took the plunge. Ken at Motrolfly got the 4330 rewound for me, and it's time to put back together. I'm hoping to get a little more power/efficiency, and maybe a little more flight time! I was only getting 5 minutes tops, flying hard on a 6S.

I'm gonna start this thread to document my experience.

The 72 is ready for the "nose job"!
72MotorOFF.jpg
72MotorBox.jpg

I had to upgrade to a HV ESC of course! Soldered some bullets on them.
4330_CC80HV.jpg

Motor locked in tight to the custom stand-offs.
4330Mounted.jpg

More to come...:peace:

3dNater

3DRCF Regional Ambassador
Fun times... I love how you guys have a park between each house :p Our neighborhood is full of 2500 sf lots with two story 2000 sf houses on them.

Fun times... I love how you guys have a park between each house :p Our neighborhood is full of 2500 sf lots with two story 2000 sf houses on them.

That's a 2.5 acre open lot between our houses that we grassed last year. Makes for a great landing strip! The field adjacent to it is huge and really nice to fly over. It's wide open out here! No trees, no power lines... Life could be worse!

I finally had a chance to button it up! I installed the motor and ESC...

Motor-&-ESC-1.jpgMotor-&-ESC-2.jpg