• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!
  • Unless you are a paid advertiser NO more posting advertisement in the individual vendor forums. You may post in the Manufacturer's Announcements section only but only ONCE a month unless your a paid advertiser.

Another 3DHS 42" AJ Slick Build Log and Review

Welcome to my first build log! My name is AZAerobat (AZ is because I am an Arizona native) or you can call me by my street name Matt! First a little background, I have been building and flying R/C planes since I was 12 years old so that is almost 20 years now. I only recently dove head first into 3D flight about 2 1/2 years ago. My first balsa 3D bird was the formidable "Buck Huck" AKA the 41" Edge 540 from 3D Hobby Shop. Some time passed I fell in love with the look of their blue 48" Edge 540 and had to have one so I bought my second 3DHS plane. Some more time passed, like it always does, and I won a 71" AJ Slick in a raffle. It took a while to save up for the gear to go inside it and I recently finished it last spring. After the 71 Slick I decided I wanted to try an Extreme Flight design and pre-order the 64" Green MXS as a birthday gift to myself. I finished assembling it right before the winter hit and have only had about 7 flights on it to date. So basically I have assembled three 3DHS balsa ships and one EF.

I recently sold my 41" Edge to pursue a 42" AJ Slick because the rumor mill stated they would be coming stateside. Well the rumor ended and I jumped on the pre-order list for one ASAP. I decided to document my experiences and assembly of the 42" Slick for all to enjoy so let me know how it goes.

List of Gear Being Used
Motor - Omega 103g
Prop - Xoar 12X6 Beechwood Electric
ESC - ZTW B Series 45Amp