• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Bridi Dalotel 84" Engine Recommends

RCPal

30cc
Hi Fellows I am quite new to GSN. I have found it to be a great place for info on everything. so now I'm looking for a bit of input.
I recently acquired a Bridi Dalotel 84". I don't as yet have it in my little hands to look at it, but am researching a suitable engine.
The airplane calls for a .91cu. in. or 15cc. I find this to be rather small on a plane of this span.
I fly 80+" span at 10 or 12lbs. with 35cc. gas and seems about right for the performance I want.
So I am thinking an RCGF 21cc Twin or a RCGF 30cc. Twin may be suitable.
Please any thoughts or opinions would be appreciated.

John

pawnshopmike

Staff member
I know a couple people that have the OS GT22. Seems to be a really sweet running engine. Very quite. Only problem is they are currently out of stock. I assume that has something to do with the Hobbico Bankruptcy.

49dimes

Damn I'm hungry
Hi John and welcome to GSN :shake:. It was quite some time ago but a dear friend of mine flew the Bridi Dalotel with a Saito 270 twin.

I remember the performance of the engine being very suited to that plane. So I would say at least a 40cc twin if not the 50cc twin RCGF offers to get the performance you speak of.

RCPal

30cc
Hi John and welcome to GSN :shake:. It was quite some time ago but a dear friend of mine flew the Bridi Dalotel with a Saito 270 twin.

I remember the performance of the engine being very suited to that plane. So I would say at least a 40cc twin if not the 50cc twin RCGF offers to get the performance you speak of.
You may be right. A 40cc twin may very likely not output as much as a 35cc single. My singles run with cans that are giving me 7800 on 18" props.