• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

3D EMHW 2.15 Ultimate

Started my gefraster holzbausatz. The instructions are in German, but there's a CD of pictures and it seems very clear where each part goes. The wood is really nicely done. All CNC routered and the fit between joints seems tight. Finished sanding the tabs off everything and she's ready to start.

The fuselage is a combination of interlocking ply parts and stringers and relies on a table for reference. The wings are built up and they've included foam shucks to compress for the glueup. Everything looks like it should be relatively easy to build straight which is good as I've never built a kit before. They also supply some routered/cut sheeting preshaped for portions of the wings and turtle deck.

Really impressed with the completeness of everything. It came with a nice fiberglass spinner, wheels/gear and hinges. All the flying wire hardware.

Glad to be doing a build thread on here. I'm sure I'll be picking the brains of all the great builders here. IMG_0387.jpg IMG_0391.jpg IMG_0396.jpg

Thanks guys!

Alright, so something I've been wondering about. How do you guys like to cut miters into balsa for your cross members? I've seen a few tools specially made for RC balsa miter cuts, both cutting and sanding tools.

I've got access to a bunch of handtools so I was thinking I could just measure and mark the angles and use a fine cut saw or small dovetail saw by hand.

The steeper the angle, the stronger it would be. Also, stagger your splices. :)