• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Simple, Great Looking Designs

Bluepilot2003

70cc twin V2
I'm by no means a pro when it comes to covering. I am looking for a great looking design that is easy to do for my aerobatic plane projects. Any suggestions??

Bluepilot2003

70cc twin V2
No paint for me! Either Monocote or Ultracote. I haven't used Ultracote yet, but I have heard it is way easier and better than Monocote. So on my current project, I plan on trying the Ultracote.

sweetpea

100cc
Both Ultra and Mono are good. Ultra has issues if you apply to much heat with shrinking uneven edges but it covers large openings in balsa better. Mono requires more pulling and tacking and physical stretching.

I prefer the sheen of Mono and the ease of laying colors on top of each other without shrinkage from too much heat. Everyone has a preference.

Bluepilot2003

70cc twin V2
Thanks for the info on covering gents. I am also looking for actual schemes to use on the planes that are easy to do. I wouldn't be able to do an awesome flame pattern or similar...

stangflyer

I like 'em "BIG"!
Both Ultra and Mono are good. Ultra has issues if you apply to much heat with shrinking uneven edges but it covers large openings in balsa better. Mono requires more pulling and tacking and physical stretching.

I prefer the sheen of Mono and the ease of laying colors on top of each other without shrinkage from too much heat. Everyone has a preference.