• If you are new to GiantScaleNews.com, please register, introduce yourself, and make yourself at home.

We're 1st in Giant Scale RC because we've got the best membership on the internet! Take a look around and don't forget to register to get all of the benefits of GSN membership!

Welcome!

Split Ailerons?

Trumpetman

New to GSN!
I've been flying my Dalton ML300 for a few years now and I built it with shortened ailerons with the idea of optimizing the airframe for IMAC (no 3D for me LOL). I've been very happy with this decision but I've always wondered how it would fly with full length ailerons.

I'm building a 2.8m JTec MC2 as a back up competition airplane and I've been kicking around the idea of using split ailerons. The outer ailerons would be my primary surfaces but the inner ailerons would be on a switch for use in certain maneuvers.

Questions

1. I know that this has been done in the recent past but I was wondering was the general concensus was about the legality? I've read the rules recently and it would seem that split ailerons are within the "letter" of the law.

2. Is the extra weight and complexity worth it?

Looking for your thoughts and input.

Pistolera

HEY!..GET OUTTA MY TREE!
I've flown other friends plane with split ailerons in IMAC and have had many discussions. As the current rules are written, there is nothing illegal about them. I just split them on my 42% Raven and should have it in the air in a week or so.

Right now I just have a simple flap function for the inboards, using the outboards for all my sequence flying. I do plan on fiddling with adding another condition to allow both at the flip of a switch for 3D playing.

The only complexity is actually splitting them. To do a good job I think you'll need to remove them from the wing. Maybe not on a foam core, but on a built-up like the Raven it'd be difficult to do while still on the wing.